XB GenSan, Showtime Season 1 Grand Winner

XB (Extreme Boyz) GenSan from General Santos City emerged as winner in the grand finals of ABS-CBN's Showtime held today at the Ynares Center in Antipolo City.

The group won a cash prize of 1 million pesos.

The only group from Mindanao, XB Gensan was only a wildcard winner, but the group managed to beat all other 9 finalists who won during the monthly winners.

In fact, XB GenSan was not even a Monthly Winner. They only reached the Weekly Finals, last April 5.

Another wildcard contender (Boyz Unlimited) competed in the finals and they also scored high, placing 3rd.

It's quite interesting that Boyz Unlimited was the one who beat XB GenSan during the April 5 Weekly Finals. Boyz Unlimited later competed in the monthly finals but lost to Philippine Islands Assassin.

However, XB GenSan, Boyz Unli and 2 other were given a chance to compete in the wildcard finals held yesterday. XB GenSan and Boyz Unlimited both won the round and earn spots in the finals.

All those 3 groups mentioned above turned out to be the Final Top 3 in the Grand Finals.


1st - Group 11. XB GenSan (General Santos City) [wildcard] 9.875

2nd - Group 7. Philippine Islands Assassin (Marikina City) 9.7

3rd - Group 10. Boyz Unlimited (Pangasinan) [wildcard] 9.625

4th - Group 8. Enlighten Black Theatre Group (San Juan, Metro Manila) 9.425

5th - Group 3. Mortal Combat and the Showgays (Brgy. Holy Spirit, Quezon City) 9.3

6th - Group 6. Savannah Kids Ballroom Dancers (Antipolo City) 8.775

7th (tie) - Group 2. Perlas ng Silangan (Olongapo City) and Group 9. E-Crew (Paete, Laguna) 8.575

8th - Group 5. Sensei (Roxas City, Capiz) 8.1

9th - Group 1. Kasibulan (Muntinlupa City) 7.375

10th - Group 4. Beatguys (Fairview, Quezon City) 7.325

A total of 40 judges, including resident judge Vice Ganda, scored the 11 finalists and chose the 1st ever grand champion of Showtime.

Among them were unevicted hurado Jhong Hilario and "burado" judges like Gladys Reyes, Andrew E, Alessandra De Rossi, Precious Lara Quigaman, Priscilla Meirelles, Assunta De Rossi, Will Devaughn, Jon Avila, Yayo Aguila, Nikki Valdez, Jet Pangan, Dennis Padilla, Robert Seña, Kean Cipriano, Marc Abaya, Bianca Manalo, Carlene Aguilar, Karla Henry, Ayannah, Joy Viado, Jay Justiniani, Christopher Roxas, Mahal, Jocelyn Oxlade, Brod Pete, Keanna Reeves, Archie Alemania, Led Sobrepeña III, Ruther Urquia, Ava and Tutti Caringal.

Special jurors such as Manny Castañeda, Jobert Sucaldito, Cornelia "Angge" Lee and Alfie Lorenzo, who judged during the Showtime Kids Edition, and Gab Valenciano who was a judge in Cebu Edition, were also part of the lineup.

Showtime Season 2 starts Monday, July 26.

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment