Piolo, John Lloyd & Sunshine, big winners at the 21st PMPC Star Awards for TV

Piolo Pascual (Walang Kapalit) lost to John Lloyd Cruz (Maging Sino Ka Man) as Best Drama Actor, but he was awarded Best Single Performance by an Actor for an episode in Maalaala Mo Kaya at the recently concluded 21st PMPC Star Awards for Television Sunday night, November 18, 2007 at Irwin Lee Theater.

As for John Lloyd, it's his third time already to win the same award, after Tabing-Ilog in 2001 and It Might Be You in 2005. It also marks his 11th acting award to date, making him as the most awarded young actor of today.

Sunshine Dizon won as Best Drama Actress for her outstanding portrayal as Bakekang at the 21st PMPC Star Awards for Television held Sunday Night, November 18, 2007 at Henry Lee Irwin Theater in Ateneo de Manila University.

Gina Pareño and Pauleen Luna both took home the trophy for Best Single Performance by An Actress for their respective performances in Maalaala Mo Kaya and Magpakailanman. The year 2007 is indeed a year for Ms. Gina as she received numerous awards and citations this year, either in movies or in television, here and abroad.

As for the new TV personalities, Ronnie Liang and Gerald Anderson were awarded Best New Male TV Personalities, while Lovi Poe and Kim Chiu also tied as Best New Female TV Personalities.

After winning year after year, Kris Aquino got no recognition this year at the PMPC Star Awards. As Game Show host, she lost to Edu Manzano, while as Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show host, she was beaten by Cristy Fermin.

Pinoy Big Brother Celebrity Edition 2 ex-housemate Gaby dela Merced shared honors with Raymond Gutierrez, Tim Yap and Issa Litton as Best Lifestyle Show Hosts for their defunct show Living It Up on QTV 11.

Last year's Best Station was GMA 7, but ABS-CBN snatched the award this time.

Two days ago, ABS-CBN was also honored as Best TV Station by the KBP Golden Dove Awards for 2007.

Stay tuned for the complete list of winners.

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

1 Comment(s):

  1. Best Children Show - Art Angel (GMA-7)
    Best Children Show Hosts - Pia Arcangel, Tonipet Gaba, and Krystal Reyes (Art Angel, GMA-7)

    Best Educational Program - Gandang Ricky Reyes (QTV 11)
    Best Educational Program Host - Ricky Reyes (Gandang Ricky Reyes, QTV 11)

    Best Travel Show - Trip Na Trip (ABS-CBN)
    Best Travel Show Hosts - Paolo Bediones and Miriam Quiambao (Pinoy Meets World, GMA-7)

    Best Reality Competition Program - Here Comes The Bride (QTV 11)
    Best Reality Competition Program Host - Christine Jacob-Sandejas (Here Comes The Bride, QTV 11)

    Best Lifestyle Show - At Home Ka Dito (ABS-CBN 2)
    Best Lifestyle Show Hosts - Raymond Gutierrez, Tim Yap, Issa Litton, and Gaby dela Merced (Living It Up, QTV-11)

    Best Morning Show - Magandang Umaga Pilipinas (ABS-CBN 2)
    Best Morning Show Hosts - Julius Babao, Christine Bersola-Babao, Bernadette Sembrano, Cheryl Cosim, Kim Atienza, Anthony Taberna, Lui Villaruz, Renee Salud, Marc Logan, Aida Gonzales, Winnie Cordero, and Ogie Diaz (Magandang Umaga, Pilipinas, ABS-CBN)

    Best Public Affairs Program - Up Close and Personal (IBC-13)
    Best Public Affairs Program Host - Marissa del Mar (Up Close and Personal, IBC 13)

    Best Magazine Show - Rated K (ABS-CBN)
    Best Magazine Show Host - Korina Sanchez (Rated K, ABS-CBN)

    Best Documentary Program - I-Witness (GMA-7)
    Best Documentary Program Hosts - Kara David, Howie Severino, Jay Taruc, and Sandra Aguinaldo (I-Witness, GMA-7)

    Best Documentary Special - 9/11, The Philippine Connection (ABS-CBN 2)

    Best Public Service Program - Bitag (UNTV 37)
    Best Public Service Program Host - Vicky Morales (Wish Ko Lang, GMA-7)

    Best News Program - Bandila (ABS-CBN 2)
    Best Male Newscaster - Julius Babao (TV Patrol World, ABS-CBN 2) & Alex Santos (TV Patrol Sabado, ABS-CBN)
    Best Female Newscaster - Mel Tiangco (24 Oras, GMA-7)

    Best Youth-Oriented Program - Abt Ur Luv (ABS-CBN)
    Best Horror/Fantasy Program - Komiks Presents: The Adventures of Pedro Penduko (ABS-CBN)

    Best Game Show - Pilipinas, Game KNB? (ABS-CBN)
    Best Game Show Host - Edu Manzano (Pilipinas, Game KNB?, ABS-CBN)

    Best New Male TV Personality - Gerald Anderson (Sana Maulit Muli, ABS-CBN) & Ronnie Liang (ASAP '07, ABS-CBN)
    Best New Female TV Personality - Kim Chiu (Sana Maulit Muli, ABS-CBN 2) & Lovi Poe (Bakekang, GMA-7)

    Best Celebrity Talk Show - SiS (GMA-7)
    Best Celebrity Talk Show Host - Boy Abunda (Homeboy, ABS-CBN)

    Best Talent Show Program - StarStruck: The Next Level (GMA 7)
    Best Talent Show Program Hosts - Dingdong Dantes, Jolina Magdangal, and Raymond Gutierrez (StarStruck: The Next Level, GMA 7)

    Best Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show - The Buzz (ABS-CBN)
    Best Male Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host - Boy Abunda (The Buzz, ABS-CBN)
    Best Female Showbiz-Oriented Talk Show Host - Cristy Fermin (The Buzz, ABS-CBN)

    Best Gag Show - Bubble Gang (GMA-7)
    Best Comedy Show - Bahay Mo Ba ‘To? (GMA-7)
    Best Comedy Actor - Ogie Alcasid (Bubble Gang, GMA 7)
    Best Comedy Actress -Pokwang (Aalog-Alog, ABS-CBN) & Tiya Pusit (Bahay Mo Ba ‘To?, GMA-7)

    Best Daytime Drama Series - Sine Novela Presents: Sinasamba Kita (GMA-7)
    Best Weekly Daytime Drama Series - Love Spell (ABS-CBN)
    Best Primetime Drama Series - Maging Sino Ka Man (ABS-CBN)
    Best Drama Anthology - Maalaala Mo Kaya (ABS-CBN)

    Best Variety Show - Eat Bulaga! (GMA-7)
    Best Musical Variety Show - ASAP '07 (ABS-CBN)

    Best Male TV Host - Willie Revillame (Wowowee, ABS-CBN)
    Best Feale TV Host - Janelle Jamer (Wowowee, ABS-CBN)

    Best Drama Actor - John Lloyd Cruz (Maging Sino Ka Man, ABS-CBN)
    Best Drama Actress - Sunshine Dizon (Bakekang, GMA-7)

    Best Single Performance By An Actor - Piolo Pascual ("Piso" / Maalaala Mo Kaya, ABS-CBN)
    Best Single Performance By An Actress - Gina Pareno ("Rehas"/ Maalaala Mo Kaya / ABS-CBN 2) & Pauleen Luna (Sa Dulo Ng Pag-Ibig: The Olivia Ortiz Story" / Magpakailanman, GMA 7)

    Best Station - ABS-CBN

    Male Face of the Night: John Lloyd Cruz
    Female Face of the Night: Bea Alonzo
    Male Star of the Night: Dingdong Dantes
    Female Star of the Night: Lorna Tolentino

    complete list of winners)