World Cup 2014 Round of 16 Team: Did your favorites advance?

World Cup 2014 Round of 16, as per schedule, begins June 28, 2014 (Jun 29 MLA Time).

The FIFA World Cup 2014 Group Stage concludes today, June 26, 2014 (Jun 27 MLA Time) and based on the results of the matches for this 1st Round, the 18 teams who have moved on or qualified to the 2nd stage, the Round of 16, have been determined already. They are those teams who emerged as the Top 2 in each of the 8 groups which battled the past 15 days.

Group A
Brazil - 2 wins, 1 draw
Mexico - 2 wins, 1 draw

Group B
Netherlands - 3 wins, 0 loss
Chile - 2 wins, 1 loss

Group C
Colombia - 3 wins, 0 loss
Greece - 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss

Group D
Costa Rica - 2 wins, 1 draw
Uruguay - 2 wins, 1 loss

Group E
France - 2 wins, 1 draw
Switzerland - 2 wins, 1 loss

Group F
Argentina - 3 wins, 0 loss
Nigeria - 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss

Group G
Germany - 2 wins, 1 draw
USA - 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss

Group H
Belgium - 3 wins, 0 loss
Algeria - 1 win, 1 draw, 1 loss

View complete results and team standings: FIFA World Cup 2014 Group Stage.

Teams who were part of the Round of 16 during the 2010 World Cup, but not anymore this 2014 after being eliminated in the Group Stage: South Korea, Ghana, England, Japan, Portugal and the defending champion Spain.

Sadly, no more Asian team in the Top 16, which is comprised of 2 teams from Africa, 6 from Europe and 8 from the Americas. (In 2010, there were 7 from Americas, 2 from Asia, 1 from Africa and 6 from Europe.)

I'm sure Cristiano Ronaldo's fans (including me) are mourning now over Portugal getting eliminated today, the last day of the World Cup Group Stage, failing to advance to Round of 16.

Of the above 16 teams, only Netherlands, Colombia, Argentina and Belgium were able to win 3 of their 3 games in the Group Stage. Two of them, Netherlands and Colombia, are so far the teams with the most goals, respectively with 10 and 9 goals. Brazil, France, Germany and Switzerland meanwhile each have 7 goals.

Amongst players, leading scorers after the group stage are Germany's Thomas Mueller, Argentina's Lionel Messi and Brazil's Neymar each having 4 goals. Next to them are James Rodriguez from Colombia, Karim Benzema from France, Arjen Robben and Robin Van Persie from the Netherlands, Xherdan Shaqiri from Switzerland and Enner Valencia from Ecuador.

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment