37th Gawad Urian 2014 winners: Vilma Santos or Nora Aunor - Who won?

37th Gawad Urian 2014 winners announcement happened earlier tonight, June 17, 2014, at the Dolphy Theater in ABS-CBN, and viewers at home were able to watch the event via Cinema One.

Hosts for this 2014 Gawad Urian Awards Night were Piolo Pascual, Bianca Gonzalez, Butch Francisco and Ai-Ai delas Alas.

The ever handsome Piolo Pascual at the dressing room (photo via @whengcorpuz)

Best Supporting Actress winner was Angel Aquino, for the movie 'Ang Huling Cha-Cha ni Anita'. It was her first time win an Urian, and that's after she bagged 2 nominations in this category, the other one for 'P-rn-', alongside Mitch Smith, Ruby Ruiz, Raquel Villavicencio and Kapatid star Jasmine Curtis-Smith for 'Transit', who came with her boyfriend Sam Concepcion.

If there's an award for Best Couple at the 37th Gawad Urian, Sam and Jasmine should be the winner. (photo via @jascurtissmith)

Two of the most awarded actresses in Philippine history, showbiz rivals Nora Aunor (who previously won 8 Urian awards) and Vilma Santos (a 6-time Urian awardee) were up against each other again for the Best Actress award. They were nominated together several times, the last time was in 2005 (Nora Aunor for 'Naglalayag', Vilma Santos for Mano Po 3: My Love), but they both lost to Judy Ann Santos for 'Sabel'.

Who won this year's Best Actress? Sadly, neither of them.

Below is the complete list of 37th Gawad Urian winners (in order of announcement):

Best Supporting Actress - Angel Aquino, 'Ang Huling Cha-Cha ni Anita' (her first Urian award)

Best Supporting Actor - Junjun Quintana, 'A Philippino Story' (also his first)

Best Short Film - 'Missing', directed by Zig Carlo Dulay

Best Documentary - 'Nanay Mameng', directed by Adjani Arumpac

Best Sound - Corinne de San Jose, 'OTJ'

Best Editing - Chuck Gutierrez, 'Riddles of My Homecoming'

Best Music - Emerson Texon, 'Sonata'

Best Production Design - Adolfo Alix Jr., 'Porno'

Best Cinematography - Lauro Rene Manda, 'Norte Hangganan ng Kasaysayan'

Best Screenplay - Lav Diaz and Rody Vera, 'Norte Hangganan ng Kasaysayan'

Best Director - Hannah Espia, 'Transit' (she becomes the 3rd woman to win Best Director, after Laurice Guillen and the late Marilou Diaz-Abaya)

Best Actor - Joel Torre, 'OTJ (already his 3rd from URIAN, and his 2nd URIAN Best Actor. He previously won Best Actor for 'Batang West Side' in 2001 and Best Supporting Actor for 'Bayaning 3rd World' in 1999. With this 3rd win, he's now tied with Phillip Salvador, Richard Gomez and Vic Silayan for being the winningest actor in Urian history.)

Read more: http://www.mykiru.ph/2012/06/alessandra-de-rossi-coco-martin-among.html#ixzz34uQ9On6O)

Best Actress - Angeli Bayani, 'Norte Hangganan ng Kasaysayan' (her first)

Best Picture - 'Norte Hangganan ng Kasaysayan'

'Norte Hangganan ng Kasaysayan' was the most awarded film, winning a total of 4: Best Cinematography, Best Screenplay, Best Actress and Best Picture. 'OTJ' followed with 2: Best Sound and Best Actor.

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment