XLR8's debut album turns "gold"

The self-titled debut album of the P-pop group XLR8 has been certified
gold, 9 months after its release in March 2010.

XLR8 album cover

XLR8 received the gold record award earlier on GMA 7's Party
Pilipinas, presented to them by Viva Entertainment's P-Pop label, the
producer of the album.

It's indeed an amazing feat for the group which was launched only last
March as the local music scene's answer to K-pop groups.

And that despite the controversy they faced when they were accused of copying Super Junior's single "Sorry, Sorry" and its album cover.

XLR8 is composed of 8 members namely: MJ and MM Magno, Hideaki Torio, Carlo Lazerna, Kiko Ramos, AJ Muhlach, Arkin del Rosario and Caleb

Their two singles from the album also charted so well on Pinoy MYX Countdown. The carrier single "You're So Hot" stayed in the chart for 9 weeks peaking at #9 while their 2nd single "I Love You Girl" peaked at #7 and charted for 6 weeks.

True to what XLR8 means, the group continues to accelerate and as what they said on Party Pilipinas today, they're going to stage their first
major concert in 2011.

Congrats guys! Keep goin' up!

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

1 Comment(s):