John Lloyd Cruz dethroned as Box Office King

John Lloyd Cruz's 3-year streak as Box Office King has ended.

John Lloyd held the title beginning in 2007 for the movie "One More Chance", then the next year for "A Very Special Love" and again in 2009 for "You Changed My Life".

And for 2010, he almost retained the title with two box-office hits under Star Cinema: "Miss You Like Crazy" with Bea Alonzo and "My Amnesia Girl" with Toni Gonzaga.

But neither of the two films surpassed the earnings of the MMFF 2010 entries "Si Agimat at si Enteng Kabisote", which starred Sen. Bong Revilla Jr and Vic Sotto, under GMA-Regal Films and "Ang Tanging Ina Mo Last Na 'To", starred Ai-Ai delas Alas, produced by Star Cinema.

Guillermo Mendoza Scholarship Foundation has officially announced that the Box Office King title for 2010 will be awarded to Sen. Bong and Vic, while the Box Office Queen is Ai-Ai delas Alas.

It goes to show that they already changed the ruling now. Instead of the December 31 cut-off, they used January 7 as the cut-off in determining who will be crowned with the titles.

(I smell politics here.)

December 31 Cut-Off:
1. My Amnesia Girl P144.8M
2. Miss You Like Crazy P143M
3. Si Agimat At Si Enteng Kabisote P123M (estimated amount only)
4. Here Comes the Bride P116M
5. Petrang Kabayo P115.5M
6. Ang Tanging Ina Mo Last Na 'To P109M (estimated amount only)

January 7 Cut-Off:
1. Si Agimat At Si Enteng Kabisote P159M
2. Ang Tanging Ina Mo Last Na 'To P157M
3. My Amnesia Girl P144.8M
4. Miss You Like Crazy P143M
5. Here Comes the Bride P116M
6. Petrang Kabayo P115.4M P115.5M

This news saddens the fans of both John Lloyd and Toni 'coz the movie "My Amnesia Girl" was shown for a month only, from November 24 to December 24, and had to give way to the MMFF 2010 entries which opened on December 25.

"My Amnesia Girl" could have earned more than its final gross if it was extended for 1-2 weeks, just like John Lloyd's previous films which made him a Box Office King.

So maybe next time, if MMFF is coming in a month, don't release a new movie.

With the new ruling, it's most likely that the Box Office King and Queen titles for 2011 and the coming years will go to the stars whose movies were shown for the MMFF.

Shall we expect Ai-Ai, Bong and Vic getting the titles year after year?

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

8 Comment(s):

  1. I agree with you. Its Politics. do you still remember when bong revilla's movie won best picture over kasal kasali kasalo on MMFF? that time, MMFF council change the criteria for best picture in favor for the movie of bong revilla.

    at malamang, hindi lang to pulitika. may usapang pera 'to!! :D

  2. Hindi TALAGA Fair! Just shows how powerful politics is! JLC and Toni for Box office king and Queen. Last year MMFF entries were not included thats why Ai Ai did not get it and now its not fair for toni gonzaga!

  3. How can petrang kabayo have lower earning in january than december o.o???

  4. yeah but it was Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo, not Kasal Kasali Kasalo. That was in 2007. Resiklo won Best Picture.

    You can read it here:

  5. yeah dapat di binago ang rules.

  6. I don't see any politics. I don't see any cut-off date here. As long as your movie came out in 2010, the highest grossing movie's lead stars get the title.

    Unfortunately, Vic and Bong's visual epic won the hearts of the masses. There's always this year. :)

  7. from the year 2006 and onwards, the guillermo already ammended its rules and takes into consideration the full run of the MMFF. The rules has not changed only now. It has been followed since 2006, and this will be the 6th year that the rule stands.