Gawad Tanglaw Awards 2014 Winners: Coco Martin, Gerald Anderson awardees again

12th Gawad Tanglaw Awards 2014 winners - the best performances, programs and movies in 2013 - have been revealed.

Kapamilya actos Coco Martin and Gerald Anderson are winners again, after they shared Best Actor award last year.

For this year, however, Coco and Gerald no longer share same award. For his "Juan dela Cruz" role, Coco won the Best Performance by an Actor in a TV series award for the 3rd consecutive year, while Gerald won Best Single Performance by an Actor for his performance in the "Bituin" episode of 'MMK'.

It's quite interesting to know that Gerald won for the said episode which has been aired just 3 weeks ago (December 21) as MMK's Christmas episode.

Coco previously won same award for "Minsan Lang Kita Iibigin" in 2011 and "Walang Hanggan" in 2012, the year he was also named by Gawad Tanglaw as one of the "Pinaka kapuri-puring Artista ng Dekada". During the 9th Gawad Tanglaw in 2010, he was also the Best Actor in the movies category for "Noy".

Gerald on one hand also won Best Performance by an Actor in a TV series last year for "Budoy".

It's amazing how these two actors have been reaping honors every year since they starred together in the 2009 hit soap "Tayong Dalawa" which also earned for them the award for Best Ensemble Performance in a Television Drama shared with Kim Chiu and the rest of the cast.

This year's Best Ensemble Performance award went to the whole cast of GMA 7's "My Husband's Lover".

Meanwhile, Judy Ann Santos convincingly won the award Best Performance by an Actress for the TV series "Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala".

ABS-CBN won a total of 13 awards, reclaiming the honor as Best TV Station, the award they lost to GMA 7 last year. The Kapuso network won 8 awards this year, including the Best News Program for GMA News TV's 'State of the Nation', while TV 5 (Kapatid Network) on one hand got 6 awards.

Below is the complete list of 12th Gawad Tanglaw 2014 winners (list courtesy of ABS-CBN News)

TV Station of the Year: ABS-CBN
Best TV Series - "Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala" (ABS-CBN)
Best Performance by an Actor (TV Series): Coco Martin for "Juan Dela Cruz" (ABS-CBN)
Best Performance by an Actress (TV Series): Judy Ann Santos for "Huwag Ka Lang Mawawala" (ABS-CBN)
Best Ensemble Performance (TV Series): My Husband’s Lover (GMA)
Best Drama Anthology: Magpakailanman (GMA)
Best Performance by an Actor (Single Performance): Gerald Anderson for “Bituin” (Maalaala Mo Kaya) (ABS-CBN)
Best Performance by an Actress (Single Performance): Jean Garcia for “Hinagpis ng Isang Ina” (Magpakailanman) (GMA 7)
Best News Program: State of the Nation (GMA News TV)
Best News Program Anchor (Male): Paolo Bediones (TV 5)
Best News Program Anchor (Female): Cheryl Cosim (TV 5)
Best Public Affairs Program: Reaksyon (TV 5)
Best Public Service Program: Wish Ko Lang (GMA)
Best Documentary Program: I-Witness (GMA)
Best Investigative Program: Scene of the Crime Operatives (ABS-CBN)
Best Educational Program: Wansapanataym (ABS-CBN)
Best Comedy/Gag Show: Tropa Mo ’Ko Unli (TV 5)
Best Morning Program: Good Morning Club (TV 5)
Best Game Show: Minute To Win It (ABS-CBN)
Best Variety Show: ASAP (ABS-CBN)
Best Showbiz Oriented Talk Show: Showbiz Police (TV 5)
Best Magazine Show: Kapuso Mo, Jessica Soho (GMA)

Best Radio DJ: DJ Chacha (Tambayan 101.9)
Best Radio Anchor (Male): Ariel Ureta for “Todo-Todo Walang Preno” (DZMM)
Best Radio Anchor (Female): Winnie Cordero for “Todo-Todo Walang Preno” (DZMM)
Best AM Station: DZBB
Best FM Station: Tambayan 101.9
Radio Station of the Year: DZRM

Best Actor: Joel Torre for “On the Job” (Reality Entertainment and Star Cinema)
Best Actress: Vilma Santos for “Ekstra” (Quantum Films and Star Cinema)
Best Supporting Actor: Marlon Rivera for “Ekstra” (Quantum Films and Star Cinema) and Joey Paras for “Babagwa” (Quantum Films)
Best Supporting Actress: Bela Padilla for “10,000 Hours” (Philippine Film Studios, N2 Productions and Viva Films) and Angel Aquino for “Ang Huling Chacha ni Anita” (Sigrid Bernardo and Jalz Zarate Production)
Best Director: Hannah Espia for “Transit” (TEN7P Production)
Best Editing: Jess Navarro for “Lauriana” (BG Productions International)
Best Original Theme Song: “Bahala Na” composed and performed by ABRA for “Shoot To Kill: Boy Golden” (Scenema Concept and Viva Films)
Best Production Design: Fritz Silorio and Joel M. V. Bilbao for “Shoot To Kill: Boy Golden” (Scenema Concept and Viva Films)
Best Cinematography: Nap Jamir for “Lauriana” (BG Productions International)
Best Story: Gian Carlo Abraham and Hannah Espia for “Transit” (TEN17P Production)
Best Screenplay: Ricky Lee for “Lauriana” (BG Productions International)
Students’ Choice Award for Best Film: “Purok 7” directed by Carlo Obispo (Rough Road Productions)
Special Jury Prize for Film: “Lauriana” (BG Productions International) and “Quick Change” (Found Films)
Gantimpalang Jaime G. Ang Presidential Jury Award for Film: Brillante Mendoza
Gawad Romeo Flaviano L. Lirio Para sa Sining at Kultura: Robert Arevalo and Barbara Perez.

Best Magazine: Star Studio (ABS-CBN Publishing Inc.)
Best Newspaper (Tabloid): Pilipino Star Ngayon (PhilStar Daily, Inc.)

Hall of Fame (TV): Rated K – Best Magazine Show (ABS-CBN 2)
Hall of Fame (Radio): YES-FM
Developmental Communication Award for Comprehensive Reportage (Yolanda Tragedy): Atom Araullo (ABS-CBN 2), Love Añover (GMA 7)
Natatanging Gawad sa TV (Edukasyon): Honesto (ABS-CBN 2)
Natatanging Gawad sa Sining ng Radyo: Ted Failon (ABS-CBN 2)
Natatanging Gawad sa Sining ng Panulat: Lualhati Bautista

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

1 Comment(s):