MMFF 2012 Awards Night - Winners List

The MMFF 2012 awards winners were annnounced earlier tonight, December 27, 2012, during the Awards Night held at the Meralco Theater.

The MMFF 2012 winners (Photo credit to MarC SaLBoRo @marcs03)

Winning most of the awards at the 38th Metro Manila Film Festival (MMFF 2012) were the films 'El Presidente' (8 awards), "Thy Womb" (7 awards) and 'One More Try' (6 awards), while the current MMFF 2012 top grosser 'Sisterakas' took home only 2 awards and the 2nd top-grosser 'Si Agimat, Si Enteng At Si Ako' won nothing.

Fan favorite Angel Locsin (for 'One More Try') failed to win the Best Actress trophy, and it's still Nora Aunor who won the award (the 8th time already) for the internationally-acclaimed film 'Thy Womb', while Dingdong Dantes is Best Actor again, for the 2nd consecutive year, this time for 'One More Try'.

Surprisingly, Wilma Doesnt got her first ever acting award when she won tonight as Best Supporting Actress for 'Sisterakas', while Cesar Montano scored another MMFF trophy, not surprising though, winning this year's Best Supporting Actor award for 'El Presidente' (his 6th time to win in the MMFF, but his 2nd as Best Suppporting Actor from the festival).

The most controversial probably is "Thy Womb" not being one of the Top 3 Best Pictures. Best Picture was "One More Try", 2nd Best Picture award went to "El Presidente" and the 3rd Best Picture was "Sisterakas".

The criteria used for judging the Best Picture winner were: 25% - Artistry and Creativity, Excellence, Innovativeness and Global Appeal, 25% - Technical Excellence & Innovativeness, 25% - Content, and 25% - Filipino, Cultural and/or Historical Value.

Aside from the Best Actress trophy, "Thy Womb" also won Best Director, Gatpuno Villegas Cultural Award, Most Gender-Sensitive Award, Best Original Story, Best Cinematography and Best Production Design, but not Best Picture.

Check out below the list of MMFF 2012 winners:

Best Picture - 'One More Try'
2nd Best Picture - 'El Presidente'
3rd Best Picture - Sisterakas
Best Director - Brillante Mendoza, 'Thy Womb'
Best Actress - Nora Aunor, 'Thy Womb'
Best Actor - Dingdong Dantes, 'One More Try'
Best Supporting Actress - Wilma Doesnt, 'Sisterakas'
Best Supporting Actor - Cesar Montano, 'El Presidente'
Best Child Performer - Miguel Vergara, 'One More Try'
Gatpuno Antonio Villegas Cultural Award - 'Thy Womb'
Most Gender-Sensitive Film - 'Thy Womb'
FPJ Memorial Award of Excellence - 'One More Try'
Best Screenplay - Anna Ramos, 'One More Try'
Best Original Story - Henry Burgos, 'Thy Womb'
Best Editing - Vito Kahili, 'One More Try'
Best Cinematography - Odyssey Flores, 'Thy Womb'
Best Production Design - Brillante Mendoza, 'Thy Womb'
Best Visual Effects - Imaginary Friends and Black Burst, 'Shake, Rattle & Roll 14: The Invasion'
Best Make-up - Warren Munar and co., 'El Presidente'
Best Theme Song - Apl.De.Ap and Jamir Garcia, 'El Presidente'
Best Musical Score - Jesse Lazaten, 'El Presidente'
Best Sound - Albert Michael Idioma, 'El Presidente'
Best Float - 'El Presidente'
Youth Choice Award - El Presidente

Best Picture - 'The Grave Bandits'
Special Jury Prize - 'Ad Ignorantiam'
Best Director - Tyron Acierto, 'The Grave Bandits'
Best Actress - Liza Diño, 'In Nomine Matris'
Best Actor - Allan Paule, 'Gayak'
Most Gender-Sensitive Film - 'In Nomine Matris'

Best Picture - 'Pukpok' (Dela Salle University)
Most Gender-Sensitive Film - 'Manibela' (Far Eastern University)
Special Jury Prize - 'Tagad' (USC)

Male Star of the Night - Joseph "Erap" Estrada
Female Star of the Night - Nora Aunor
SMDC Five Star Male Celebrity of the Night – Zanjoe Marudo
SMDC Five Star Female Celebrity of the Night - Bianca King

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment