PMPC Star Awards for TV 2012 winners: Jericho Rosales beats Gerald Anderson, 'Amaya' wins over 'Walang Hanggan'

The Philippine Movie Press Club (PMPC) bared last night the winners in the 26th PMPC Star Awards for TV (2012) and most people are particularly interested to know who won in the categories Best Drama Actor, Best Drama Actress and even the Best Drama Series.

So here we go...

BEST DRAMA ACTOR - Jericho Rosales for 'Dahil Sa Pag-ibig' (ABS-CBN)
Many thought Gerald Anderson was a sure winner for this award
especially with his remarkable portrayal of Budoy, but Jericho Rosales' "bida-kontrabida" role as Oliver Falcon in 'Dahil Sa Pag-ibig' was favored more by PMPC, which is just quite fine though.

Jericho has been in the biz for 15 years already and he was the Kapamilya network's top primetime leading man before Piolo Pascual, John Lloyd
Cruz, Coco Martin and Gerald Anderson, but this is only the first time that he won the Best Drama Actor award from the PMPC. He was previously nominated for that award in 2001 and 2002 for 'Pangako Sa 'Yo' and again in 2004 for 'Sana'y Wala Nang Wakas' but he failed to win.

BEST DRAMA ACTRESS (tie) - Helen Gamboa for 'Walang Hanggan' (ABS-CBN) and Nora Aunor for 'Sa Ngalan Ng Ina' (TV5)
Both are great actresses and were really award-worthy for their respective roles, but the "tie" makes me think that the judgment made by PMPC was "subjective" and not "objective".

They could have just named 1 winner. But at least, they avoided a triple tie when they did not name another veteran actress as winner, Ms. Susan Roces, who's also nominated for 'Walang Hanggan'.

This marks the 2nd time already that the two tied for an award. It already happened at URIAN Awards in 1996 when they both won as Best Actress for the same role (Flor Contemplacion) in two different movies.

While it appears to be Ms. Helen's 1st Best Drama Actress win from PMPC, it's already the 2nd for Ate Guy. She previously won the same in 1993 for ABS-CBN's 'Star Drama Theater Presents: Nora'.

It was kinda surprising for many that 'Amaya' won over 'Walang Hanggan' or even 'Budoy'. Probably, because we're just used to having a Kapamilya soap winning the Best (Primetime) Drama Series award for many years now.

I don't like to believe that this is just a consolation by PMPC for missing out 'Amaya' lead star Marian Rivera in the Best Drama Actress category. But 'Amaya' certainly has achieved one big thing: it ended ABS-CBN's
6-year streak in winning the award.

The last time a Kapuso primetime soap won this award was 7 years ago, when 'Mulawin' won in the 19th PMPC Star Awards for TV.

Apart from PMPC, 'Amaya' already won as Outstanding Original Drama Series at PMPC Star Awards' rival, the 8th Golden Screen TV Awards held a year ago.

Full list of winners HERE.

The 26th PMPC Star Awards for Television 2012 winners (from L-R): Noni Buencamino, Toni Gonzaga, Arjo Atayde, Cory Vidanes for ABS-CBN, Xyriel Manabat, Helen Gamboa, Nora Aunor, Rufa Mae Quinto and Jericho Rosales (Photo courtesy of @chuckgomez05)


About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment