Four Hunks Emerge As Winners At The 23rd PMPC Star Awards


The recently concluded 23rd Star Awards for Movies held last night at the UP Theater recognized four hunks in Philippine showbiz.

The Hunks' Piolo Pascual and Jericho Rosales tied as Movie Actors of the Year for the movies Don't Give Up On Us and Pacquiao: The Movie respectively while Viva Hotmen Member Allen Dizon was awarded as Movie Supporting Actor of the Year.

Another hunk, Sam Milby of ASAP Coverboys, scored two awards, one as New Movie Actor of the Year for You Are The One and the other as Male Star of the Night.

It's already the 13th acting award for Piolo Pascual, but it's his first Best Actor from the PMPC. He already won Best Supporting Actor from the PMPC in 2003 for Dekada '70, on which he also scored Best Supporting Actor awards (a grandslam) on other award giving bodies. Piolo was also nominated as Best Actor by the PMPC for the movie Milan.

Jericho Rosales had two Best Actor awards (Maalaala Mo Kaya) for Television but it's his first for Movies. He was previously nominated in PMPC for the movies Santa-Santita and Tanging Yaman.

Sam Milby, on his one year of stay in showbiz, has snatched already two awards. Last year, he was Best New Male TV Personality for ASAP and now as Best New Movie Actor of the Year. He also took home the Male Star of the Night award. He is also rumored to be one of the Best Actor nominees for the upcoming Star Awards for Television for his effective performance in Maging Sino Ka Man.

Surprisingly, Allen Dizon scored his first ever acting award for Twilight Dancers.

As to the female categories, Judy Ann Santos was the Best Actress, her third for the movie Kasal, Kasali, Kasali and Gina Pareño also for the said movie was the year's Best Supporting Actress. It's the 8th acting award for Judy Ann but the first from the PMPC-Movies.

It's also the third time to see Judy Ann and Gina winning together. Both were recognized in Metro Manila Film Festival 2006 and at the 4th Golden Screen Awards. The tandem will next be seen in the teleserye Ysabela on ABS-CBN.

Maja Salvador of Sukob was the New Movie Actress of the Year. She already scored the same award from the 4th Enpress Golden Screen Awards last week.

Here's the complete list of winners for the 23rd PMPC Star Awards for Movies:
(winners are in bold letters)

Movie of the Year
Don't Give Up On Us (Star Cinema)
Kaleldo (Centerstage Productions)
Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo (Star Cinema)
Ligalig (CM Films)
Pacquiao The Movie (Star Cinema/FLT Films International)
You Are The One (Star Cinema)

Movie Director of the Year
Joyce Bernal (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Joel Lamangan (Pacquiao The Movie)
Brillante Mendoza (Kaleldo)
Cathy Molina-Garcia (You Are The One)
Cesar Montano (Ligalig)

Digital Movie of the Year
Batad sa Daang Palay (Philippine Center for Performing Arts)
Donsol (Bicycle Pictures)
Inang Yaya (Unitel Pictures)
Kubrador (MLR Films)
Rome and Juliet (I.O.U. One Productions)

Digital Movie Director of the Year
Adolfo Alix Jr. (Donsol)
Pablo Biglang-Awa and Veronica Velasco (Inang Yaya)
Benjie Garcia (Batad Sa Daang Palay)
Jeffrey Jeturian (Kubrador)
Connie Macatuno (Rome And Juliet)

Movie Actress of the Year
Nora Aunor (Care Home)
Andrea del Rosario (Rome and Juliet)
Gina Pareño (Kubrador)
Cherry Pie Picache (Kaleldo)
Judy Ann Santos (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Maricel Soriano (Inang Yaya)

Movie Actor of the Year
Ryan Agoncillo (Kasal, Kasali Kasalo)
John Arcilla (Compound)
Cesar Montano (Ligalig)
Piolo Pascual (Don't Give Up On Us)
Jericho Rosales (Pacquiao The Movie)

Movie Supporting Actress of the Year
Pops Fernandez (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah Ze Moveeh)
Liza Lorena (Inang Yaya)
Gina Pareño (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Cherry Pie Picache (Twilight Dancers)
Jodi Sta. Maria (You Are the One)

Movie Supporting Actor of the Year
Chokoleit (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah Ze Moveeh)
Johnny Delgado (Ligalig)
Allen Dizon (Twilight Dancers)
Jay Manalo (Pacquiao)
Ronaldo Valdez (Sukob)

Movie Child Performer of the Year
Nash Aguas (Shake, Rattle & Roll 8 "Yaya" episode)
Heidi Morata (Batad sa Daang Palay)
Eliza Pineda (D' Lucky Ones)
Tala Santos (Inang Yaya)
Erika Ureta (Inang Yaya)

New Movie Actress of the Year
Kim Chiu (First Day High)
Precious Lara Quigaman (Umaaraw, Umuulan)
Jackie Rice (Till I Met You)
Maja Salvador (Sukob)
Nene Tamayo (Shake, Rattle & Roll 8 "Yaya" episode)

New Movie Actor of the Year
Jason Abalos (First Day High)
Gerald Anderson (First Day High)
Christian Bautista (Mano Po 5)
Joseph Bitangcol (D' Lucky Ones)
Sid Lucero (Donsol)
Luis Manzano (All About Love)
Sam Milby (You Are The One)

Movie Editor of the Year
Vito Cajili (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Manet Dayrit (Sukob)
Mark Phillip Espina (Kaleldo)
Marya Ignacio (Pacquiao The Movie)
Marya Ignacio (Don’t Give Up On Us)

Movie Production Designer of the Year
Raymond Bajarias (Sukob)
Dante Nico Garcia (Don’t Give Up On Us)
Egay Littaua (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)
Benjamin Padero (Kaleldo)
Chito Sumera (Eternity)

Movie Original Screenplay of the Year
Jose Javier Reyes (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Boots Pastor (Kaleldo)
Cesar Montano & Willie Laconsay (Ligalig)
Raz de la Torre, Vanessa Valdez & Carmi Raymundo (You Are The One)
Dindo Perez, Carol San Pedro & Artemio Abad (Don’t Give Up On Us)

Movie Cinematographer of the Year
Eli Balce (You Are The One)
Eli Balce (Sukob)
Odie Flores (Kaleldo)
Charlie Peralta (Don’t Give Up On Us)
Gilberto Vistan (Ligalig)

Movie Musical Scorer of the Year
Jesse Lucas (Kasal, Kasali, Kasalo)
Vincent de Jesus (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)
Raul Mitra (You Are The One)
Raul Mitra (Don’t Give Up On Us)

Movie Sound Engineer of the Year
Ditoy Aguila (Shake Rattle And Roll 8)
Ditoy Aguila (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah)
Albert Michael Idioma (Sukob)
Albert Michael Idioma & Andrew Millanos (Ligalig)
Albert Michael Idioma (Txt)

Movie Original Song of the Year
Ikaw Ang Super Hero Ng Buhay Ko (Zsa Zsa Zaturnnah, interpreted by Alfred Vargas)
In Another Lifetime (Eternity, interpreted by Gary Valenciano)
"Sana Ay Malaman Mo" (Theme song from the movie Don't Give Up On Us from Star Cinema. Composed by Ogie Alcasid and Louie Ocampo/Interpreted by Piolo Pascual)
Walang Hahadlang (Ligalig, interpreted by Cesar Montano)

Darling of the Press
Ogie Alcasid
Herbert Bautista
Christine Bersola-Babao
Toni Gonzaga
Luis Manzano
Diether Ocampo
Regine Velasquez

Male Star of the Night
Sam Milby

Female Star of the Night
Kim Chiu

Male Face of the Night
Dingdong Dantes

Female Face of the Night
Heart Evangelista

Ulirang Artista Awardee
Mr. German Moreno

Related Articles:
Fearless Forecast: 23rd Star Awards For Movies
Blind Item: Piolo and Sam Again?
Piolo Wins, Sam Lost At The 4th Golden Screen Awards

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment