World Cup 2014 ends with Germany as Champion | 2018 World Cup to be held in Russia

Germany is FIFA World Cup 2014 champion, after defeating Argentina in a final match held earlier in Rio del Janeiro, Brasil.

Scores were 1-0, after 120 minutes of playing time. And the one responsible
for that sole goal? He's 22-year-old Mario Goetze (Göetze).

Expect him to be a football superstar after making that winning goal for Germany. He's now being dubbed as "Super Mario".

Goetze did it amazingly, at the 113' during the extra period. It was his 2nd goal this World Cup 2014, the first during the Germany vs Ghana match in the Group Stage.

Germany has just won its first World Cup championship in 24 years, its first in 6 editions, and already its 4th time in the tournament's history. The last time they were Champions was in 1990, and incidentally, they also defeated Argentina, 0-1.

Germany becomes the 1st European country to win in a South American country hosting the World Cup.

Meanwhile, after the finals, winners of the FIFA World Cup 2014 Awards were announced. And they are:

Manuel Neuer of Germany - Golden Glove Award
James Rodriguez of Colombia - Golden Boot Award
Lionel Messi - Golden Ball Award
Thomas Mueller of Germany - Silver Ball Award
Arjen Robben of The Netherlands - Bronze Ball Award

The next World Cup edition will be in 2018, to be held in Russia for the first time.

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment