SEA Games 2013 Closing Ceremony, plus Final Medal Tally

The 27th SEA Games 2013 has come to an end in Nay Pyi Taw, Myanmar.

During the Closing Ceremony, which happened at the Wunna Theikdi Stadiumm, the 2013 SEA Games Champion (Thailand) has been crowned and the host country Myanmar passed on the SEA Games flag to the next host, Singapore, where the 28th SEA Games will be held on June 5-16, 2015.

11 nations and 4,730 athletes participated in 37 sports of the 2013 SEA Games.

Based on the Final Medal Tally, Thailand emerged as the over-all champions, with 107 golds, 94 silvers and 81 bronzes, for a total of 282 medals. It marks the 12th time that Thailand became the over-all SEA Games winner, the most by any country in Southeast Asia. It has maintained its record of having the most golds, silvers and bronzes, as well as most medals won in SEA Games history, now with a grand total of 5,307 medals.

It's the first time in 6 editions of SEA Games that the host country is not the over-all champion.

This year's host Myanmar, finished only in 2nd Place, with 86 golds, 62 silvers and 85 bronzes, for a total of 233 medals. It's only the second "2nd Place" finish for this 2-time over-all winner (1961 and 1969 SEA Games).

Vietnam meanwhile took 3rd Place, same as their position in the last SEA Games. Vietnam was once the champion (2003) and it's a 3rd Placer only for the 4th time.

2011 SEA Games over-all champions Indonesia sadly dropped to 4th Place, followed by Malaysia in 5th and then Singapore in 6th.

The Philippines only ranked 7th, 1 spot lower than its 2011 SEA Games final ranking. During the 2009 SEA Games, the country ranked 5th.

38 new records were set this year, and that includes two records by Hidily Diaz from the Philippines in Swimming Women's 58 kg event.

There were 219 athletes from the Philippines and collectively, they earned 29 gold medals, won in the following sports listed below, plus 34 silvers and 38 bronzes, for a grand total of 101 medals:

Earl Benjamin Yap, Ian Patrick Chipeco, Delfin Anthony Adriano (Men's Compound Team)

Archand Christian Bagsit (Men's 400m)
Christopher Ulboc Jr. (3000m Steeplechase)
Eric Shauwn Cray (Athletics Men's 400m Hurdles)
Henry Dagmil (Men's Long Jump)
Isidro del Prado Jr, Edgardo Alejan Jr, Jullius Felicisimo Nierras and Archand Christian Bagsit (Men's 4×400m Relay)
Jesson Ramil Cid (Men's Decathlon)

Sinag Pilipinas, consisting of Kevin Louie Alas, Rey Mark Belo, Jericho Xavier Cruz, Marcus Eugene Douthit, Kevin Ferrer, Matthew Allen Ganuelas, Garvo Lanete, Bobby Ray Parks Jr, Elvin Jake Pascual, Ronald Pascual, Kiefer Isaac Ravena and Shej Roi Sumang (Men's Team)

Dennis Orcollo (Men's 10 Ball Pool Single)
Rubilen Amit (Women's 10 Ball Pool Single)

Josie Gabuco (Women's 45-48 kg)
Mario Fernandez (Men's 56 kg)
Mark Anthony Barriga (Men's 46-49 kg)

Daniel Patrick Caluag (Men's BMX Cross)
Mark John Lexer Galedo (Men's Road Race 50km Individual Time Trial)

Princess Mary Superal (Women's Individual)
Katrina Pelen-Briones, Clare Amelia Legasi, Princess Mary Superal (Women's Team)

Gilbert Ramirez (Men's -73 kg)
Kiyomi Watanabe (Women's -63 kg)

Ramon Antonino Franco (Men's Individual Kumite 55 kg)

Preciosa Ocaya (Women's 54 kg)

Nestor Cordova (Men's M1x)

Dustin Jacob Mella, Raphael Enrico Mella, Vidal Marvin Gabriel (Men's Poomsae Team)
Jade Zafra (Women's 53-57 kg)
Kirstie Elaine Alora (Women's +73 kg)
Kristopher Robert Uy (Men's +87 kg)

Daniel Parantac (Men's Taijiquan + Taijijian)
Dembert Arcita (Men's 52 kg)
Jessie Aligaga (Men's 48 kg)

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment