Bea Rose Santiago - Miss International 2013 winner

Bea Rose Santiago is Miss International 2013 winner, crowned during the world finals of the pageant earlier tonight in Tokyo, Japan.

Miss Philippines Bea Santiago won over 67 other candidates, a granted wish for the 22-year-old Masbate native (another Bicolana beauty!). Before the finale, Bea wished to give the Philippines a merry Christmas by winning the Miss International 2013 crown. "Our Last night...... Lord bless me! Give me confidence and strength for tomorrow. I want to give a merry christmas to the Philippines," she posted on Twitter (@bearose21).

And it did happen!

Miss Philippines reacts after being named Miss International 2013 winner

Roomies who end up as winners: Miss International 2013 Bea Santiago with her roommate, Miss New Zealand Casey Radley, who finished 2nd Runner Up.

Bea revealed on Instagram that before the pageant started, she took this selfie beside a picture of Miss International 2005 Precious Lara Quigaman.

BEA ROSE SANTIAGO'S SPEECH: Bea took the opportunity to relate her speech to Typhoon Yolanda that struck the Philippines during the TOP 5 Question and Answer Portion where each of the 5 finalists answered the question, "What would you do if you win Miss International 2013?"

"The whole world saw how my country, the Philippines, suffered. The agony of my people was felt. But one by one, country to country came to help. I would like to thank all the nations that helped my country. In our darkest hours, you have opened my eyes and my heart in how important it is if we all just support each other. If I become Miss International, I will uphold international camaraderie to sustain the spirit for symphaty and to continually share the message of hope. I believe that whatever calamity may come to us, as long as we have each other, there will be hope. Thank you."

Very well said, Miss Philippines! Her typhoon-related speech certainly impressed the mostly Japanese judges. It gave me chills. Feelin' so proud.

Bea becomes the 5th Miss International winner from the Philippines. Previously, we had Gemma Cruz in 1964, Aurora Pijuan in 1970, Melanie Marquez in 1979 and Precious Lara Quigaman (also a Bicolana) in 2005.

This is also the 3rd major pageant crown for the Philippines in the Year 2013, after Megan Young won Miss World and Mutya Datul as Miss Supranational.

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment