ALMA Awards 2009 to honor Latino artists once again

The ALMA Awards 2009 or the 2009 American Latino Media Arts Awards will be handed out tonight, September 18, 2009, at the Royce Hall Auditorium at the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).

The ALMA Awards is an annual event by the National Council of La Raza (NCLR) that gives recognition to Latin artists in the US.

The awards show will be hosted by Mexican-American celebrities Eva Longoria-Parker and George Lopez.

Both are actually nominated as Outstanding Actress and Actor in a Comedy TV series.

Two of the nominees in the Sports category are boxing champions Juan Manuel Marquez from Mexico and Miguel Cotto from Puerto Rico.

Two days from now, Marquez will face American Floyd Mayweather Jr. for their "Number One/Numero Uno" bout while Cotto will fight against Philippines' Manny Pacquiao this November.

Another boxing hero Oscar de la Hoya, a Mexican-American, will receive Special Achievement in Sports Television award while Mexican-American actress Salma Hayek will be given the Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence.

Performers of the evening include Honduran-American David Archuleta, Portuguese-Canadia Nelly Furtado, American-Jamaican Sean Kingston, Cuban-American Pitbull and Lebanese-Colombian Shakira.

Archuleta and Pitbull are both nominated in the Music category alongside other music artists such as Filipino-Spanish Enrique Iglesias, Ecuadorian-American Christina Aguilera, Mexican-American Demi Lovato, Dominican-American Kat DeLuna, Puerto Rican-American Maxwell and even the Black Eyed Peas, whose members are (American-Jamaican), (Fil-Am), Taboo and Fergie (Mexican-American.

It will be telecast live at 8 p.m. on ABC.

Here's the complete list of nominees and presenters for the ALMA Awards 2009:



Charlie Sheen, Two and a Half Men, CBS
Demián Bichir, Weeds, SHO
George Lopez, Mr. Troop Mom, NICK
Horatio Sanz, In The Motherhood, ABC
Jake T. Austin, Wizards of Waverly Place, DISNEY CHANNEL
James Roday, Psych, USA
Joshua Gomez, Chuck, NBC
Mark Indelicato, Ugly Betty, ABC
Oscar Nunez, The Office, NBC
Ricardo Antonio Chavira, Desperate Housewives, ABC
Tony Plana, Ugly Betty, ABC

America Ferrera, Ugly Betty, ABC
Ana Ortiz, Ugly Betty, ABC
Eva Longoria Parker, Desperate Housewives, ABC
Jamie-Lynn Sigler, Entourage, HBO
Jessica Alba, The Office, NBC
Joanna Garcia, Privileged, CW
Judy Reyes, Scrubs, ABC
Lupe Ontiveros, Reaper, CW
Maria Canals-Barrera, Wizards of Waverly Place, DISNEY CHANNEL
Nadine Velazquez, My Name Is Earl, NBC
Rosie Perez, Lipstick Jungle, NBC
Salma Hayek, 30 Rock, NBC
Selena Gomez, Wizards of Waverly Place, DISNEY CHANNEL


Adam Rodriguez, CSI Miami, CBS
Amaury Nolasco, Prison Break, FOX
Benito Martinez, The Shield, FX
Benjamin Bratt, The Cleaner, A&E
Cristian de la Fuente, In Plain Sight, USA
Danny Pino, Cold Case, CBS
Edward James Olmos, Battlestar Galactica, SYFY
Enrique Murciano, Without a Trace, CBS
Esai Morales, Jericho, CBS
Jimmy Smits, Dexter, SHO
Jorge Garcia, Lost, ABC
Miguel Sandoval, Medium, NBC/CBS
Nestor Carbonell, Lost, ABC
David Zayas, Dexter, SHO
Carlos Bernard, 24, FOX

Alana De La Garza, Law & Order, NBC
Cote de Pablo, NCIS, CBS
Dania Ramirez, Heroes, NBC
Eva La Rue, CSI Miami, CBS
Francia Raisa, The Secret Life Of The American Teenager, ABC Family
Julie Gonzalo, Eli Stone, ABC
Justina Machado, ER, NBC
Laura Cerón, ER, NBC
Lauren Vélez, Dexter, SHO
Michelle Rodriguez, Lost, ABC
Paola Turbay, The Secret Life Of The American Teenager, ABC Family; The Closer, TNT
Paula Garcés, The Shield, FX
Roselyn Sanchez, Without a Trace, CBS
Sara Ramirez, Grey's Anatomy, ABC


Alfred Molina, Pink Panther 2
Cheech Marin, Race To Witch Mountain
Freddy Rodriguez, Nothing Like the Holidays
Oscar Nunez, The Proposal
Clifton Collins Jr., Star Trek; Crank: High Voltage
Efren Ramirez, Crank: High Voltage
Javier Bardem, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Joaquin Phoenix, Two Lovers
John Leguizamo, Nothing Like the Holidays
Luis Guzmán, The Taking of Pelham 123
Ramon Rodriguez, Transformers: Revenge of The Fallen

Elisabeth Peña, Nothing Like the Holidays
Sofía Vergara, Madea Goes to Jail
Cameron Diaz, My Sister's Keeper
Eva Mendes, The Women, The Spirit
Michelle Rodriguez, Fast & Furious
Penélope Cruz, Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Rosario Dawson, Seven Pounds
Zoe Saldana, Star Trek


David Archuleta
Enrique Iglesias
Christina Aguilera
Demi Lovato
Kat DeLuna
Lynda Carter
Black Eyed Peas

David Ortiz, Producer, Fast & Furious; Hellboy 2: The Golden Army
Guillermo del Toro, Director, Hellboy 2: The Golden Army
Kenny Ortega, Director, HSM3
Linda Mendoza, Director, various productions, including Jonas; Scrubs
Natalie Chaidex, Co-Executive Producer, Terminator: Sarah Conner Chronicles
Peter Murrieta, Writer/Executive Producer, Wizards of Waverly Place
Rene Echevarria, Executive Producer/Writer, Medium
Roberto Orci, Writer, Star Trek; Transformers 2; Executive Producer, The Proposal (TV: Fringe)
Salma Hayek, Executive Producer, Ugly Betty
Louis J. Horvitz, Director, Awards Specials
Claudio Miranda, Cinematographer, The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (Oscar Nominee)
Mike Elizalde, Makeup, Hellboy II: The Golden Army (Oscar Nominee)
Jeanne Van Phue, Makeup, Twilight
Mary Ann Valdes, Hair Stylist, Twilight; Ugly Betty
Silvio Horta, Executive Producer/Writer, Ugly Betty
Edward James Olmos, Director, Battlestar Galactica
Moctesuma Esparza, Executive Producer/Executive, Independent Films
Alfredo De Villa, Director, Nothing Like the Holidays
Rick Najera, Writer, Nothing Like the Holidays

Albert Pujols, Baseball, St. Louis Cardinals
Alex Rodriguez, Baseball, New York Yankees
Bobby Martinez, Surfing
Carmelo Anthony, Basketball, Denver Nuggets
Cuauhtemoc Blanco, Soccer, Chicago Fire
Emanuel David “Manu” Ginóbili, Basketball, San Antonio Spurs
Evan Longoria, Baseball, Tampa Bay Devilrays
Helio Castroneves, Racecar Driving, IndyCar
Juan Manuel Marquez, Boxing
Juan Pablo Montoya, Racecar Driving, NASCAR
Lorena Ochoa, Golf
Luis Castillo, Football, San Diego Chargers
Mark Sanchez, Football, University of Southern California (USC)
Miguel Cotto, Boxing
Milka Duno, Racecar Driving, IndyCar
Ovidio DeLeon, Windsurfing
Pau Gasol, Basketball, Los Angeles Lakers
Paul Rodriguez Jr., Skateboarding
Rafael Nadal, Tennis
Rey Mysterio, World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE)
Tony Gonzalez, Football, Kansas City Chiefs (recently traded to Atlanta Falcons)
Tony Romo, Football, Dallas Cowboys
Dara Torres, Swimming, Olympian

(online voting)
Daisy Fuentes
Adrianna Lima
Jessica Alba
Eva Longoria Parker
Alessandra Ambrosia
Elsa Benitez
Jennifer Lopez
Giselle Bundchen

Other special tributes and honors:

Anthony Quinn Award for Industry Excellence
Salma Hayek

Special Achievement in Sports Television
Oscar De La Hoya

Tribute to Ricardo Montalban
Presented by Rita Moreno

while this year's presenters are:

Jake T. Austin
Antonio Banderas
Benjamin Bratt
Jordana Brewster
Joanna Garcia
Selena Gomez
Eva La Rue
Enrique Murciano
Jesse Metcalfe
Rita Moreno
Amaury Nolasco
Oscar Nunez
Dania Ramirez
Efren Ramirez
James Roday
Adam Rodriguez
Michelle Rodriguez
Roselyn Sanchez
Jamie Lynn Sigler
Jimmy Smits
Nadine Velazquez
Lauren Velez
Sofia Vergara
Kat Von D
Rainn Wilson

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment