26th Luna Awards (2008) winners announced

Mykiru's First Catch

The Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) has released the winners in the 26th Luna Awards last week with Star Cinema's A Love Story winning 5 awards out of its 9 nominations.

Except for Best Actor and Best Actress, A Love Story sweeped all the major awards including the Best Picture and Best Director.

Maricel Soriano, who is the female lead in A Love Story, won as Best Actress for 'Bahay Kubo'. It's her 3rd Best Actress from the FAP and her 22nd Best Movie Actress award so far.

Paolo Contis got his 2nd Best Actor award for 'Banal', beating other heavy contenders such as Aga Muhlach, Joel Torre, John Lloyd Cruz and Piolo Pascual.

Veteran actor Dante Rivero was the Best Supporting Actor honoree for 'A Love Story', his 2nd acting award in his entire career.

Probably one of the youngest awardees in FAP history, Angelica Panganiban won as Best Supporting Actress, her very first award now that she's all grown-up. As a child actress, she had 3 Best Child Actress awards.

Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo had 8 nominations but failed to win any of them.

Here's the complete list of winners and nominees for the 26th Luna Awards: (winners are highlighted)

Best Picture
Banal (Comguild Productions, Inc.)
Faces of Love (Eddie Romero Foundation)
A Love Story (Star Cinema)
One More Chance (Star Cinema)
Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo (Star Cinema)

Best Director
Cesar Apolinario (Banal)
Joel Lamangan (Silip)
Jose Javier Reyes (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)
Maryo J. de los Reyes (A Love Story)
Eddie Romero (Faces of Love)

Best Actor
Paolo Contis (Banal)
John Lloyd Cruz (One More Chance)
Aga Muhlach (A Love Story)
Piolo Pascual (Paano Kita Iibigin)
Joel Torre (Ataul for Rent)

Best Actress
Bea Alonzo (One More Chance)
Judy Ann Santos (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)
Maricel Soriano (A Love Story)
Maricel Soriano (Bahay Kubo)
Regine Velasquez (Paano Kita Iibigin)

Best Supporting Actor
Alchris Galura (Batad: Sa Paang Palay)
Ronnie Lazaro (Ataul for Rent)
Pen Medina (Banal)
Wendell Ramos (Happy Hearts)
Dante Rivero (A Love Story)

Best Supporting Actress
Irma Adlawan (Ataul for Rent)
Eugene Domingo (Bahay Kubo and Paano Kita Iibigin)
Angelica Panganiban (A Love Story)
Gina Pareno (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)

Best Screenplay
Vic Acedillo Jr. (Batad: Sa Paang Palay)
Carmi G. Raymundo & Vanessa Valdez (One More Chance)
Murphy Redd & Bong Ramos (Haw-Ang… After the Harvest)
Eddie Romero & Rica Arevalo (Faces of Love)
Vanessa R. Valdez (A Love Story)

Best Cinematography
Rodolfo Aves Jr. (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)
Marissa Floirendo (The Promise)
Ramoncito Redoble (Batanes)
Manuel Teehankee (One More Chance)
Renato de Vera (Ataul for Rent)

Best Production Design
Rodell Cruz (Resiklo)
Blanca Dadivas & Felisberto Besina (Haw-Ang…After the Harvest)
Cyrus Khan (Batanes)
Mitoy Sta. Ana (Enteng Kabisote 4)
Ma. Asuncion Torres & Anna Carmela Manda (Ang Lalaki sa Parola)

Best Editing
Vito Cajili (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)
Marya Ignacio (Ouija and You Got Me)
Jess Navarro (Silip)
Tara Illenberger (A Love Story)

Best Musical Score
John Ballesteros (Faces of Love)
Carmina Robles Cuya (Ouija)
Allan Feliciano & Arnold Buena (Resiklo)
Von de Guzman (Bahay Kubo)
Jesse Lucas (Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo).

Best Sound
Ditoy Aguila (Ouija)
Ditoy Aguila & Junel Valencia (Resiklo and The Promise)
Albert Michael Idioma (A Love Story and Sakal, Sakali, Saklolo)
Addiss Tabong (Katas ng Saudi)

Golden Reel Award: Former President Joseph Estrada
Manuel de Leon Award: the late Producer-Director Cirio Santiago
FPJ Lifetime Achievement Award: Ms. Boots Anson-Roa
Lamberto Avellana Award (posthumous): the late sound engineer Juanito Clemente
Plaque of Appreciation: Manila Mayor Alfredo Lim

The awarding ceremony will be held in January, 2009.

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment