Jones Cup 2015 Final Team Standings & Results: Gilas takes Silver

Jones Cup 2015 final day today. So which teams emerged on top of the team standings?

Philippines' Gilas Pilipinas ranked 2nd over-all in the standings to take Silver medal, behind Iran, who finished in 1st and won the Jones Cup 2015 Gold medal.

Not like last year, when there were 8 teams and there were semis and final rounds after the prelims, this year's Jones Cup had 9 teams and there were no semis nor championship rounds. The winners were determined based on the results from the round-robin games, and in this case, it's Iran who was declared the champions after winning 7 games and just losing once (to South Korea USA).

Philippines' Gilas Pilipinas came 2nd, with 6 wins and 2 losses (against South Korea and Iran). Their biggest victory was against Chinese Taipei B held earlier, where they won by 29 points, 96-67. The team's smallest margin of victory was 4 points, versus New Zealand (92-88 in overtime) and versus USA (78-74).

Philippines' Moala Tautaa dunks over a 7-footer player from Team USA (credit to Mo's IG, @tautuaa33)

credit to Asi Taulava's IG, @agelessasi88)

(See: Jones Cup 2015 Full Results)

JONES CUP 2015 TEAM STANDINGS (as of 7PM, September 6):
1st - Iran 7-1
2nd - Philippines 6-2
3rd - Chinese Taipei 6-2
4th - Russia 5-3
5th - South Korea 4-4
6th - New Zealand 3-5
7th - USA 3-5
8th - Japan 2-6
9th - Chinese Taipei B 0-8

Now after Jones Cup, the Philippines may now concentrate on bigger battles, the FIBA Asia Championship 2015 to be held in China from September 23 to October 23. Philippines is in Group B along with the teams from Hong Kong, Palestine and Kuwait. -

About mykiru

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment