JBC shortlist for Chief Justice is out

The Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) has revealed today, August 13, 2012, its shortlist of nominees for the next Chief Justice (CJ) of the Supreme Court of the Philippines.

From 20 nominees, JBC shortlist now only has 8 nominees, from where Philippine President Ninoy Aquino (PNoy) will choose and appoint as the next Chief Justice, replacing Renato Corona who was impeached last May.

The 8 shortlisted nominees were those who got at least 5 votes from the members of the JBC.

Check out the JBC Shorlist for the next Chief Justice:

1. Acting Chief Justice Antonio T. Carpio - 7 votes
2. Supreme Court Justice Roberto A. Abad - 6 votes
3. Supreme Court Justice Arturo D. Brion - 6 votes
4. Solicitor General Francis H. Jardeleza - 6 votes
5. Supreme Court Justice Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno - 6 votes
6. Former Executive Secretary Ronaldo B. Zamora - 6 votes
7. Supreme Court Justice Teresita J. Leonardo-De Castro - 5 votes
8. Former Ateneo Law Dean Cesar L. Villanueva - 5 votes

[Poll: Who should PNoy choose as the next Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines?]

Except for Dean Villanueva, the shortlisted Chief Justice nominees by the JBC were also among those who topped the mock poll conducted by the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) last month.

Here's the official letter by the JBC to PNoy, containing the names of the 8 shortlisted nominees for Chief Justice: (photo credit to Court Administrator Midas Marquez)

JBC Shortlist for Chief Justice

The 12 other nominees who didn't make it to JBC shorlist are:

former UP Law Dean Raul C. Pangalangan
PCGG Chair Andres B. Bautista
SEC Chair Teresita J. Herbosa
lawyer Soledad M. Cagampang-De Castro
La Salle Law Dean Jose Manuel I. Diokno
lawyer Maria Carolina "Katrina" T. Legarda
lawyer Rafael A. Morales
COMELEC Commissioner Rene V. Sarmiento
retired Judge Manuel DJ. Siayngco, Jr.
UE Law Dean Amado D. Valdez
SC Justice Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr.
and Justice Secretary Leila M. De Lima

It was also revealed today that De Lima was disqualified from being a Chief Justice due to the disbarment complaints filed against her last February.

PNoy is expected to reveal his choice by the end of this month. - www.mykiru.ph

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment