Chief Justice Nominees - The Top Contenders

Five (5) nominees who are already Supreme Court Justices are considered as the top contenders for the Chief Justice position of the Supreme Court of the Philippines.

That's according to a mock poll conducted by the members of the Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) last Saturday, GMA News has reported.

The IBP members have picked 10 from the 20 Chief Justice Nominees who they consider as "ideal" Chief Justice and they include Acting Chief Justice Antonio T. Carpio and Supreme Court Justices Roberto A. Abad, Maria Lourdes P.A. Sereno, Arturo D. Brion and Teresita J. Leonardo-De Castro.

Also shortlisted by IBP members are: former UP Law Dean Raul C. Pangalangan, PCGG Chair Andres B. Bautista, Solicitor General Francis H. Jardeleza, SEC Chair Teresita J. Herbosa and former Executive Secretary Ronaldo B. Zamora.

The other 10 nominees who failed to make it to IBP's list are:

lawyer Soledad M. Cagampang-De Castro
La Salle Law Dean Jose Manuel I. Diokno
lawyer Maria Carolina "Katrina" T. Legarda
lawyer Rafael A. Morales
COMELEC Commissioner Rene V. Sarmiento
retired Judge Manuel DJ. Siayngco, Jr.
UE Law Dean Amado D. Valdez
former Ateneo Law Dean Cesar L. Villanueva
SC Justice Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr.
and Justice Secretary Leila M. De Lima.

After the 4-day public interviews of the 20 Chief Justice Nominees last week, the Judicial and Bar Council (JBC) will vote on Thursday, August 2, 2012, who among the 20 nominees will make the shortlist to be submitted to President Noynoy Aquino (PNoy).

And from the shortlist, PNoy will choose the next Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Philippines.

Who do you think is the next SC Chief Justice? -

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment