Star Awards for Movies 2013: Two "politician" winners!

Star Awards for Movies 2013 winners were announced last night, March 10, 2013, by the Philippine Movie Press Club or PMPC and among the winners are 2 incumbent politicians who are seeking for re-election to their respective post in the upcoming 2013 Philippine Elections.

ER Ejercito as Best Actor, Isko Moreno as Darling of the Press (Photo credit to @ChuckGomez05 via Twitter)

Laguna Governor Jeorge Estregan Jr or more popularly known as ER Ejercito won as Movie Actress of the Year for his role as Emilio Aguinaldo in the MMFF 2012 entry "El Presidente", the 2nd consecutive year that he won the award from the PMPC Star Awards.

Gov. ER won over multi-awarded veteran actor Eddie Garcia for his internationally-acclaimed role in "Bwakaw", the Philippines' entry to the 2013 Oscar Awards' Best Foreign Language Film category. Other nominees were John Lloyd Cruz (The Mistress), Dingdong Dantes (One More Try), Coco Martin (Sta. Niña), Aga Muhlach (Of All The Things) and Jericho Rosales (Alagwa).

His film was also the night's biggest winner, taking home the most trophies (a total of 8 out of 11 nominations), including Best Picture, the award it failed to win at the controversial Metro Manila Film Festival 2012 last December, and the Best Original Theme Song award for a song which was interpreted by no less than Gov. ER's wife and incumbent Pagsanjan Mayor Maita Sanchez-Ejercito (she's also running for 2nd term this May).

Another "politican" winner was Manila Vice Mayor Isko Moreno who was awarded "Darling of the Press". Isko, who was nabbed last month for hosting a bingo game, somehow amused everyone at the awards night when he opened his speech with this: "Sa letrang B..."

Both are seeking re-election this 2013 Philippine Elections: ER Ejercito is running for 2nd term as Laguna Governor, Isko Moreno for 3rd term as Manila Vice Mayor.

If there were politician winners, actually there were also politicians or 2013 elections candidates who lost at last night's PMPC. Aga Muhlach, who's running as CamSur Congressman, lost to ER as Best Actor and to Isko as Darling of the Press; Batangas Governor Vilma Santos, who's running for 3rd term, lost the Best Actress trophy to her son Luis Manzano's ex-girlfriend Angel Locsin, and Senator Ramon "Bong" Revilla Jr. who was also up for the Darling of the Press award.

Check out the winners in the 29th PMPC Star Awards for Movies (2013), listed by film and the number of awards won:

EL PRESIDENTE (Scenema Concept International, Inc.) - 8 Awards
Movie of the Year
Movie Director of the Year - Mark Meily
Movie Actor of the Year - Jeorge “E.R.” Estregan
Movie Screenwriter of the Year - Mark Meily
Movie Cinematographer of the Year - Carlo Mendoza
Movie Production Designer of the Year - Danny Red and Joel Bilbao
Movie Editor of the Year - Jason Cahapay and Ryan Orduña
Movie Original Theme Song of the Year - “Aking Inang Bayan” (Composed by Marizen Soriano, arranged by Jessie Lasaten, interpreted by Maita Ejercito)

ALAGWA (Breakaway Films) - 5 Awards
Indie Movie of the Year
Indie Movie Director of the Year - Ian Loreños
Child Performer of the Year - Bugoy Cariño
Indie Movie Screenwriter of the Year - Ian Loreños
Indie Movie Editor of the Year - Dempster Samarista

I DOO BIDOO BIDOO (Unitel and Studio 5) - 3 Awards
New Movie Actor of the Year - Neil Coleta
New Movie Actress of the Year - Tippy Dos Santos
Movie Musical Scorer of the Year - Vincent de Jesus

TIKTIK: THE ASWANG CHRONICLES (Reality Entertainment, Agostodos Pictures, Mothership, Postmanila, and GMA Films) - 2 Awards
Movie Supporting Actress of the Year - Janice de Belen
Movie Sound Engineer of the Year - Corinne de San Jose and Ditoy Aguila

MATER DOLOROSA (Creative Programs, Inc.) - 2 Awards
Movie Supporting Actor of the Year - Carlo Aquino
Indie Movie Sound Engineer of the Year - Ditoy Aguila and Mark Locsin

THY WOMB (Centerstage Productions) - 2 Awards
Indie Movie Cinematographer of the Year - Odyssey Flores
Indie Movie Production Designer of the Year - Dante Mendoza

ONE MORE TRY (Star Cinema) - 1 Award
Movie Actress of the Year - Angel Locsin (Read: Angel Locsin is Best Actress (again) at 2013 PMPC Star Awards for Movies)

MGA MUMUNTING LIHIM (LargaVista Entertainment and Cinemalaya) - 1 Award
New Movie Actress of the Year - Kim Komatsu

SUPREMO (Alternative Vision Cinema)- 1 Award
Indie Movie Musical Scorer of the Year - Von de Guzman

MIGRANTE (XITI Productions) - 1 Award
Indie Movie Original Theme Song of the Year - “Saan Ako Tutungo” (Composed by Lucien Letaba, Rody Vera, and Boni Ilagan, arranged by Melvin Corpin, interpreted by Honey Araneta)

Darling of the Press - Isko Moreno
Nora Aunor Ulirang Artista Lifetime Achievement Award – Senator Lito Lapid
Ulirang Alagad ng Pelikula Sa Likod ng Kamera – Cinematographer Romy Vitug

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment