Miss Earth 2008 Updates

October 25, 2008

Divided in three groups in three different places, the swimsuit competition (preliminary) was held with 5 ladies from each group selected as semi-finalists and will compete in another round on November 1st. For Group 1: Palawan, Top 5 were Denise Garrido (Canada), Mariana Rodríguez (Colombia), Charlotte Lagauzere (France), Ria Antoniou (Greece) and Miriam Odemba (Tanzania). Miss Canada was awarded Miss Puerto Prinsesa City.

The second group in Batangas had Tatiane Alves (Brazil), Jennifer Neves (Guam), Abigail Elizalde (Mexico), Melanie de Laat (Netherlands) and Nok Nora Duany (South Sudan) in the Top 5.

Meanwhile, the Top 5 for the 3rd group in Manila is yet to be known.

October 28, 2008

The 85 candidates for Miss Earth 2008 were finally presented to the press and they paraded in their sexiest swimsuits while holding placards containing messages for the environment. The press selected Miss Photogenic awardee and she was Karla Paula Henry from the Philippines. (It is the Philippines' 2nd consecutive Miss Photogenic award and 3rd time to win the award in Miss Earth history).

The award was handed out during the National Costume competition held later that night.

Shassia Ubillus of Panama won the competition while other candidates were also given some special awards: Gandang Ricky Reyes Award: Mexico, Abigail Elizalde; Miss Golden Sunset: Brazil, Tatiane Alves, Miss Psalmstre Placenta: Venezuela, Daniela Torrealba, Miss Micu Confidence: Greece, Ria Antoniou, Joel Cruz Signature Award: Greece, Ria Antoniou, Face of the Night: Colombia, Mariana Rodríguez and Miss Aficionado: Tanzania, Miriam Odemba.

About M.I.

Mykiru is an entertainment blogger, having been named as one of the Top 10 Pinoy Showbiz Resources in the Philippines. For a decade now, Mykiru.ph has been delivering the latest, the hottest and most trending issues in the country.

0 Comment(s):

Post a Comment